Structure/Existing Areas of Research


A basic structure has been developed for further elaboration of the topics relevant to the scientific excellence of the profile area. The knowledge gained from this consideration was the basis for the scientific structure of the profile area, which contains five main units: theory, tools, pre-processing, simulation and post-processing.

Based on the survey of the institutes, each of the five main units, theory, pre-processing, computation/simulation, post-processing and tools contains numerous research projects that define the international reputation of RWTH Aachen University in the field of computational science and engineering. Approximately 40 professorships have been identified in the extended research environment of the profile area CompSE within the RWTH.